4 days to go…


You know the walking-to-the-dance-floor dance made famous by Peter Kay? I suddenly realised the other day that my running style more than slightly resembles it; a kind of self-conscious shamble, not quite following any rhythm or showing any style, but demonstrating willing and suggesting that it might, just might, develop into something good. Honestly – have a look at about 8 minutes into this clip and you could well be watching me run!

I’m enjoying my taper week – I went for a short run yesterday evening and my wheezy hayfevered lungs felt good, but my stomach was heavy with cream tea so I’m glad I didn’t have far to go.

I’m embracing the concept of carb-loading, although I am wondering how widely I can stretch the definition of carbs. Could I possibly substitute a multipack of Wispas for the more traditional pasta meal maybe? The science behind carb-loading is that it increases the amount of glycogen stored in the muscles, thus delaying fatigue in an endurance event. Sounds good to me. I will be keeping my energy levels well and truly topped up during the marathon with Jelly Babies, but I will be eating mostly pasta for the remainder of this week just in case it helps.

Thank you to everyone who has sponsored me recently, I’m so close to my £3000 target now! Check out http://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/NickiClarkson to see how it’s going (and if you fancy sponsoring me while you’re there, well…)

My amazing sister-in-law in Dubai has pulled even more publicity out of the bag for her marathon walk including an article in the Portsmouth News and a news item on the DebRA website – go Daisy!

I never thought I’d say this but I’m looking forward to the marathon; I’ve put the training in, I’m running for an amazing charity and I’m looking forward to the atmosphere – it’s a once in a lifetime opportunity so I’m going to make the most of it and enjoy it as much as I can (please remind me of that at about mile 2. And 3. And 4. And 5…). I am still slightly worried about the toilet issue…oh, and the running bit of course, but on the whole, bring it on!

This entry was posted in DebRA, Fundraising, Marathon, Running, Training and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

