I’m in the Daily Echo!


I was in the Echo on Friday, get me! Please form an orderly queue for autographs…

Regretfully that’s not me in the main picture; I’m the one who looks like a cheesy little hamster at the bottom of the article – not the best photo in the world, sigh. But it’s still good publicity, right? Hopefully I’ll have more news to report on the publicity front next week, so stay tuned for the next exciting episode of Nicki In Press!

I did my best ever run today with no shin or calf pain (hurrah). It started off as perfect running weather – beautiful blue sky but not too hot and I was listening to comedy podcasts which really do make the time go faster. I was about 3 miles from home (which I’m proud to say counted as “nearly home” – never thought I’d say that!) when I ran out of podcasts, and it started to rain at the same time. It was proper rain too, none of this newfangled drizzle, but I had my Positive Mental Attitude with me and ran almost cheerily on. Still no signs of any endorphins but running without shin pain made such a difference – I’ve transformed from Horrid Henry to Pollyanna. Well, maybe not…

I was listening to songs for the last bit of the run and singing along (oh yes, I have enough energy to run and sing simultaneously, tra la la la la). Do you ever get that thing where you hear the first few notes of a song you haven’t heard for a while, and it’s a song you like so much you can’t help smiling? Love it when that happens!

Oh, fantastic news: I’m nearly at £2000 with my fundraising – anyone want to make it up to that magic number? There could be some chocolate in it for you! http://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/NickiClarkson

This entry was posted in Marathon, Running, Training and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m in the Daily Echo!

  1. bearrunner says:

    Great news on the recent fame… You are famous now… I know what it is like when my batteries die with 3/2 miles to go in a run, so I can relate ! Comedy podcasts, thats a genious idea to pass the time while running…

    Cheers

Leave a Reply

