The Wall


I was not in the mood for running today. Tried to jolly myself out of it but honestly, I had the most sullen and grumpy mental state ever – it was like I had both Horrid Henry and Perfect Peter in my head:

The Henry part of me: “Stupid running. Stupid pavement. Stupid shoes.”
The Perfect Peter part of me: “Oh, but at least it’s not raining, and there are some sparrows in that hedge, aren’t they lovely?”
The Henry part: “Stupid sparrows. Stupid weather. Stupid marathon.”
The Peter part: “Ah, and now the sun’s come out – it’s like a sign to carry on!”
The Henry part: “Stupid sun. Stupid everything. Oh look, there’s someone running lithely and without effort coming towards me. Let’s give them a big SCOWL.”
The Peter part: “No, no, smile at them, applaud their effort…”

And so it went on for a couple of miles of half-hearted running with my baseball cap jammed as far down on my head as I could get it…then I became aware of a real problem. Let’s just say I had an underwear malfunction that I couldn’t sort out in public and it was too uncomfortable to run so I walked a mile or so (Henry: “walking – result!”) to a garden centre to use their toilets.

Then as I came out of the garden centre and turned round to head for home my mood almost visibly lifted. If I was a cartoon character a black cloud would have vanished from above my head. So the first Running Wall that I’ve hit is one totally of my own making – I don’t like running in a direction away from home! Mentally I’m fine on short runs, but on future long runs I’m going to get someone to drive me to a set point and drop me off to find my way home, then I can run the whole distance without Horrid Henry in my head.

I’m carrying a shoulder injury at the moment caused by a wayward swing at the playground (no children were harmed, just me!) but the good news is my shins felt better thanks to a nifty stretch my brother told me about. And I’m developing a taste for Ribena, which I’ve never liked before!

I took Jelly Babies with me today although to be honest I probably wasn’t trying hard enough for the first part of the run to need additional energy (Henry: “yeah, but it was nice biting their stupid heads off”; Peter: “oooh, and they tasted so lovely”). My bumbag Runner’s Pouch isn’t quite big enough to fit everything I need in so I’ll have to make something to clip onto it to hold my food stash.

Oh, and I spotted my mum walking in the distance when I was on the more successful part of the run so I sped up to catch up (ooh, can I officially count that as interval training??) and it was very lovely to see her. Hello Mum, love you!

I enlisted the help of my 5 year old to take some publicity photos of me wearing some of my fundraising heart badges (details at http://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/NickiClarkson
 if anyone wants a reminder…) as I will hopefully (all fingers crossed!) be in a local magazine soon. Who wants to write me a caption for this one?

(On an unrelated note, how good was Vanilla Ice dancing to Ice Ice Baby on Dancing on Ice? Loved it!)

This entry was posted in Marathon, Running, Training and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

