23 minutes


I asked my husband earlier how long he thought my timed 2 mile run would have taken me this morning. His slightly optimistic answer was 12 minutes. I fell about laughing, so he upped his guess to 15 minutes, then 20 minutes.

I can now reveal that the time it took me to run 2 miles was…23 minutes. Oh, had I given that away already?

Much as I would love to say yes, it was 12 minutes, I’d estimated that I’d take 24 minutes (which is 4 repeats of Snow Patrol’s Run) so I’m not surprised by my time. I’m sure I can improve it though by:

1) not stopping! I am still using any excuse to stop, e.g. crossing a road (none of this jogging on the spot malarky for me, I’m going for the take a breather policy), finding the right button to press on the iPod etc. It’s only started since the Bad Trainers fiasco and I’m determined to…well, stop it, if you’ll excuse the pun (don’t worry, I can do worse than that!)

2) Speeding up! I’ve got an inkling that might make a difference to my time – call it a hunch, but I just think that running faster could be key. I definitely speed up towards the end of a run which suggests that I’m not pushing myself as much as I should be, but we can put a bit of spin on that and see it as encouraging that I can do more than I am.  Oui?

Wow, look at that – I’ve written a whole post about running without getting distracted. I’m going to stop now to keep it that way!

This entry was posted in Marathon, Running, Training and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 23 minutes

  1. Christian says:

    Hi Nicky
    Will definitely sponsor you! How is the training going? I’ve just got back from my first 10 mile run. It was pretty tough, my next milestone is the Brighton half marathon middle of Feb.

    • Well done Christian, I am in awe of you! Good luck for the half marathon – will you let me know if being part of an event makes the distance fly past more easily? I’m hoping so!

Leave a Reply

